Connect with us


The Difference Between ITIL 4 vs ITIL V3



Today, we live in a world where technology evolution and progression is the norm. 

The car we drive, the software we run, and the TV we watch, all have a new and updated version of it. We genuinely expect additions, replacement and progress in most of the things that are a part of our personal and professional environment. 

Professionals working in – or around – IT Service Management are definitely aware that the ITIL® guidance has just made such an evolution – from Version ITIL® V3 to ITIL® 4

And this raises some immediate questions in our mind, such as:


  • What’s the main difference in the new version & old – is it a minor facelift or a complete rebuild?
  • Is it better or worse: should we move on, or wait a while with the old version?

ITIL® V3 Framework

The ITIL® V3 is the third version of the Information Technology Infrastructure Library framework. It refers to a collection of best practices for managing information technology recognized all over the world. 

The ITIL® V3 framework emphasizes the concept of IT as a service that helps in achieving the organization’s goals. It is also considered as one of the best ITSM frameworks and was released in 2007. 

The best feature of ITIL® is that it is always evolving to fit better into today’s corporate environment. 

In order to align with the latest practices like DevOps, Lean and mainly Agile, developers of the ITIL® have come up with a new framework called ITIL® 4.  The ITIL® 4 tries to fulfil the clients or IT organization’s requirements in the best possible ways.

ITIL® V4 Framework

The ITIL® V4 is an upgraded version of the ITIL® V3 framework. It includes improved strategic elements that provide a better alignment of the IT service management with the organizational requirements.

 It was released early in 2019 and helps in building an effective IT Service Management process by providing an end-to-end operating model. It mainly supports the creation, delivery and continual improvement of tech-enabled products and services.

It guides to the business groups. The guidance which is needed to address new service management challenges. It helps in utilizing the potential of the latest technology which can work efficiently in the age of Cloud, Agile, DevOps and transformation.

The major elements of this framework are the ITIL® Service Value System (SVS) and the four dimensions model. 

The main elements of the ITIL® SVS are:

  1. Service Value Chain.
  2. ITIL® Practices.
  3. ITIL® Guiding Principles.
  4. Governance.
  5. Continual Improvement.

What are the Key Differences between ITIL® 4 vs ITIL® V3?

The fundamental components of ITIL® V3 will remain essentially the same. 

The differences that distinguish ITIL® 4 from the older ITIL® V3 versions are the inclusion of additional best practices and new material on integration.

The ITIL® 4 encourages fewer silos, increased collaboration, facilitating communication across the organization, and also with the integration of Agile and DevOps into ITSM strategies. 

ITIL® 4 is crafted to be more customizable and flexible. 

In essence, the new ITIL® 4 version encourages a more holistic view of IT. ITIL® 4 focuses more on the concepts of costs, outcomes, risks, and value. 

Building on a good selection of ideas championed by ITIL® Practitioner, the core principles of the new version are:

  1. Focus on value.
  2. Start where you are.
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback.
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility.
  5. Think and work holistically.
  6. Keep it simple and practical.
  7. Optimize and automate.

The ITIL® 4 is a refinement version of ITIL® V3, reflecting changes in the corporate environment where teamwork and communication are given extra weight, integrating IT into the overall organizational structure.

The ITIL® 4 Certification Scheme has the following levels:


  • ITIL® Foundation


This will be the prerequisite for any of the subsequent higher-level ITIL® 4 certifications.


  • ITIL® Specialist modules (3 modules)


  • Create, Deliver, Support
  • Driver Stakeholder Value
  • High Velocity IT


  • ITIL® Strategist


  • Direct, Plan, Improve


  • ITIL® Leader


  • Digital & IT Strategy
  • ITIL® Managing Professional
  • ITIL® Strategic Leader*


  • ITIL® Master


*coming in 2020


Final thoughts.

ITIL® 4 is just a change in approach and philosophy.

This is a great opportunity for you to get in on becoming an ITIL® Expert. If you are an IT professional who is already well versed in ITIL® then you should and have to bring up to speed on the new ITIL® version.

The moment you finish the course, you will have mastered ITIL®. The course teaches you every stage of the IT services lifecycle and how to increase productivity, optimize costs and contribute to effective service delivery to name a few for your company.

If you are already a certified ITIL® V3 expert professional, you automatically qualify to take the training immediately. But if you are not then there are other options to get on your way to becoming an ITIL® 4 professional and beyond.